Delicate Red

IMG_3589

I don’t know what this flower is called but it is absolutely stunning to me. It grows near the river and is bright red with a black center.

Today, when I was walking, I stopped to touch its petals and they instantly fell off of the stem and blew out of my existence.

This experience started me thinking about the delicate nature of things.  Some things, you only need acknowledge their presence and then, as if it were never in existence, disappears.  Writing about this reminds me of the movie, “Gladiator”, when the king was speaking to Maximus about how they must only whisper about some things or they would collapse and vanish forever…

Leave a Reply

