Ending a chapter to begin a new one.

indonesia pic

Celebrating with coworkers from the Virginian Pilot in March 2013 before leaving to Indonesia.

Sparticus 2

Saying, “goodbye” to Sparticus (I had to euthanize him a few weeks before I left the USA because he was suffering).

IMG_0302

My sister and my father took me to Dulles Airport in Washington, D.C. to leave for my new adventure.

IMG_0421

Seeing Indonesia for the first time by plane. It was love at first sight.

DSC00273

Indonesian security guards 😀

DSC06486

A beautiful Indonesian sunset in the city.

DSC00153

Seeing a McD’s delivery driver for the first time. He was gracious and posed for a picture.

DSC00253

Trying nasi lemak for the first time in Karawaci, Indonesia.

DSC01278

VIsiting Prambanan Temple in Jogja, Indonesia.

DSC02511

Falling in love with Bogor, Indonesia.

DSC00647

Posing for a picture on Tidung Island, Indonesia.

DSC03549

In admiration of Maluku.

DSC02241

Celebrating my 31st birthday.

DSC01376

Enjoying time with friends.

DSC02795

Adopting a new sister.

DSC06645

Trying to stop time.

DSC00004

Enjoying a beer with my new friends from Australia.

DSC06594

A page from my self-worth book, “A Boy’s Guide to Becoming a Gentleman”.

DSC06638

A page from my new self-worth book, “All the Beautiful Girls”.

DSC06082

Enjoying coconut juice on the island of Bali while celebrating my 32nd birthday.

DSC02488

Enjoying a waterfall in Bogor, Indonesia.

DSC00482

Experiencing Indonesian food with coworkers at a goodbye party.

DSC00671

Tasting Indonesian cuisine on Tidung Island, Indonesia.

IMG-20150620-WA0010

Making new friends!

DSC00143

Begrudgingly singing karaoke.

DSC07191

Beginning a new dietary lifestyle.

IMG-20150609-WA0001

Saying goodbye to coworkers in Jakarta, Indonesia.

DSC07102

Saying goodbye to Mbak Fitri,

DSC07193

Saying goodbye to a good friend.

DSC07078

Saying goodbye to more good friends!

DSC07217

Enjoying the flowers on a long walk before my trip back to the USA.

imgo

Receiving gifts before leaving the country.

IMG_0424

Reminiscing about the day I fell in love with Indonesia.

DSC07272

Virginia, USA

DSC07262

Washington, D.C.

DSC07244

Little Valentina!

I continue to struggle to try to find the right words for what I have been through the past 2 years and 3 months exploring a different country and culture. However, I can say that what I have experienced is irreplaceable and my life has been changed for the better.  I have undergone a series of tumultuous ups and downs during my journey in Indonesia that have resulted in a deep change that has penetrated the core of me.

I currently reside in Chesapeake, VA, laying low until my next adventure begins in August. During my stay in Chesapeake, I plan on doing some self-reflection and soaking in the love of friends and family.

2 thoughts on “Ending a chapter to begin a new one.

  1. Good luck and I hope all goes well in your new adventure. Stay safe.

    Please keep in touch

    Kaz xx

    Sent from Windows Mail

Leave a Reply

