Durian for beginners

DSC07093

About to try durian for the first time!

DSC07094

Not enjoying durian in a not so subtle way.

DSC07095

Taking a closer look at the fruit.

Today I tried durian for the very first time! It’s impressive that I have lived in this country for over 2 years and have gotten away with not yet trying durian; I have definitely been too scared to try. However, tonight, I was forced to try it and…

First… the smell hit me! The odd thing is, I had smelled it before in the grocery store but this time it was sitting right in front of my face and the smell seemed to have changed; I did not like this change.  It smelled like something kind of rotten…

Oh man, then I had to put it in my mouth and swallow it!!!  Aduh dong!!! It was so weird and squishy.  To be fair, the fruit is beautiful: soft and delicate. The flavor signature is an odd one; you either like it or you don’t. I definitely DON’T as you can clearly see in the middle picture!

However, I am so grateful to have been able to try yet another amazing thing in this lifetime. I’m definitely looking forward to the next challenge!

Leave a Reply

