I’m far away from home.

The sky and the air and the earth all smell different here.

Everything is different here.

I still can’t wrap my mind around what I’m doing.

I’m still having a hard time coming to grips with where I am…

Even the cats look different here.

I’m far removed from everything that’s familiar to me… everything that encompasses normal for me.

I was on my way to work today and saw a dog that looked just like my dog that I had to put down on January 7th, 2013.

Perhaps he heard me crying all the way from heaven last night  and sent a decoy down to earth today to make me smile…

I suppose you could say it made me smile briefly.

And then that smile was quickly chased away by streams of tears.

…The first thing I’m going to do when I settle back down in the states is get a dog…

And I’ll take him to the beach…

And let him play in the water…

And let him stick his head out of the window of my car…

And then, I’ll take him home.

One thought on “I’m far away from home.

  1. You will be just fine a scene always takes time to sink in so keep that bright smile of yours and be free to live free and stay awesome Leslie …your most unique student Kevin…..hugs

Leave a Reply

